Description:

A Photodesign that utilizes good photography and design skills to create a poster that shows a consistent color scheme

Well-written process (Programs/tools/skills/FOCUS principles)

I had a hard time find something I could photograph, until I remembered my Dad and his Ford Bronco. It was the perfect subject, with a distinctive color scheme, and I could make a idea to go with it.  I was able to get a picture of it, and then I did the following.

  • After I took a picture, I brought it into Photoshop, and I applied the filters necessary, and then I started to mess around with color and vibrancy a little bit, to get the colors to pop.
  • Then, using the quick select tool, I selected the bronco, and brought just the bronco without the background into a blank Photoshop document.
  • I then added shapes to cover the blank windows, added a road that matched the colors, and added a quote, keeping with a diagonal alignment.

Critique Report

  • I met with my mother, who helped me pick out the quote and refine a few things.
  • Facebook Critiques: Hannah Dunlop, and Emily Rose Perkins
  • One on One Critique: Mary Walker
  • Instructor Critique: The main thing she suggested that I improve was my use of typefaces, choosing two that provided more of a contrast. So I made most of the quote one typeface, and using a more unique one to emphasize a specific part of it.

Message

  • Dont be afraid of going too fast. It provides adventure.

Audience listed

  • Those who may be too timid to do anything new, and to those who may feel life is too fast.

Top thing learned

  • Filters in Photoshop, and how to use my IPhone effectively as a good camera. Saved my bacon with this project.

Colors scheme and color names listed

  • Complementary – Blue and Orange

Title/Copy font & category listed

  • Title = Flyboy BB – Decorative
  • Copy = Futura PT – Sans Serif

Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted

p5-original-image

Date and location you took the photo(s)

10/10/2016 – My Backyard

Video of printed project embedded

